Multiple Teams · Tennis Program Gains 100th Straight Conference Victory

The Delta High School girls’ and boys’ tennis program reached a milestone with its 100th consecutive dual-match victory in the Hoosier Heritage Conference.

The streak began on May 6, 2010 when the current seniors were in fifth grade and the current freshmen were in second grade.

The 100th straight victory came Saturday morning when the Eagles’ girls tennis team shut out Shelbyville 5-0 at the Mt. Vernon courts.

Current opponents in the HHC are Yorktown, Mt. Vernon, New Palestine, Pendleton Heights, New Castle, Greenfield-Central and Shelbyville.  During the course of the 100 wins, the Eagles have won 80 times by 5-0 shutout, 17 times by a 4-1 score, and three times by a 3-2 score.  The Eagles have won 14 HHC championships during the streak, including this spring’s championship.

The Eagles have done it primarily with team depth.  Conference opponents have put up some significant challenges during the streak, including a four-year span when the Yorktown boys’ team had standout players Ian Landwehr, Mitch Minniear, and Abe Rosenthal and a three-year span when Pendleton Heights girls had standout players Emma McCardwell, Carly Wilson and Sam Hammel.  This year’s Mt. Vernon girls team has been state-ranked much of the season, and New Palestine boys and girls have had several strong teams.

All-State and All-State Honorable Mention players who have been a part of the streak for Delta include:

Girls = Devyn Wafer (2010 and 2011), Hailey Humphrey (2010 and 2011), Ashley Loffer (2012 and 2013), Natalie Alexander (2012 and 2013), Marissa Morris (2012 and 2013), Madison Ashman (2013 and 2014), Maggie Thompson (2014 and 2015), Kaylin Gibson (2014 and 2015), Kiera Helm (2014), Teaghan Dishman (2015), Emma Snider (2015 and 2016), Grace Belangee (2016), Sarah Ogle (2016), and Emily Decker (2016).

Boys = Ben Bryan (2010), Tate Dishman (2010), Ethan Grove (2010 and 2011), Youngwoo Han (2010), Zach Richardson (2010), Jordan Chambers (2010), Bond St. John (2011), Evan Rodenberger (2011 and 2012), Nick Wilson (2012, 2013 and 2014), Bradley Wuthrich (2012 and 2013), Alec St. John (2012 and 2013), Jay Robillard (2013 and 2014), Collin Mercer (2013), Jack Sanders (2013), Joe Wegener (2014 and 2015), Matt Hapner (2014 and 2015), Jacob Brewer 2014 and 2015), Alec Robillard (2015 and 2016), Jason Wegener (2016), Joel Ashman (2016), Jonah Haley (2016), Parker Robillard (2016) and Michael Morris (2016).

In Saturday’s victory, sophomore Ellie Snider won at No. 1 singles, junior Grace Belangee won at No. 2 singles, and sophomore Mayzie Hinkle won at No. 3 singles.  In doubles, senior Abby Shafer and junior Emma Snider won at No. 1 doubles, and juniors Lexie Manor and Kortney Helm won at No. 2 doubles.

The varsity, ranked 16th in the state, is now 13-3 and will play at Mississinewa in the final regular-season match on Monday at 4:45 p.m.

The JV team beat Shelbyville 7-2 and now has a 10-6 record for the spring.